The Geek Biker

Rambles of a geek that rides a bike

Jeep TJ Overhead Center Console

I recently mounted my CB radio in the Jeep in a practical but ugly spot. It is one of those small 5W CB radios so I could fit it between the sports bar and the roof. This had to change.

The image below shows the mounting I had in place. Crappy picture, but clear enough to see how it looks.

<oh no…the pre installation picture went missing>

So I thought of various mounting spots and thought how about an overhead center console?

Here is my initial cardboard prototype of where I’m going with this:

  
So I started drawing it up on a piece of MDF, cut it out and glued some of it.

Here’s an image of the work in progress. Still need to get the edges right and get some goles for the cables.

  

Next I cut out holes for cables and the antenna.

  
 All glued but, but some hard edges. Need to get some wood filler and some rubber lining. 

  

I ende up using Rustolium for a rubber coating. I think duplicolour would have worked better.

The installation was a bitch. But mostly done. Just have to mount the microphone holder.

  
I think a pretty good outcome for someone that is only half handy with tools.

Leave a Reply

