The Geek Biker

Rambles of a geek that rides a bike

What did I learn today – Centennial Light

I’ve many a times wondered if I should replace the light bulbs in our house with new and improved bulbs that don’t die. Way to many times have I switched on ye old bed lamp to be startled by a flash that made me think the coppers finally caught up with the neighbours’ wrong doing but just had the address wrong when they decided to storm the house. The flash of a blown bulb so bright that it takes me a few seconds to realize that the bulb is actually dead and it is dark and that I’m not blind. My new found joy of still being able to see only lasting the second I walk around in the dark room and stub that little toe against the bed. Then starts the epic search for a light bulb to replace the one that’s just blown.

Then whilst researching ‘the longest lasting light bulb ever to grace this earth with its warm glow’ (googled), I came across this beauty. The Centennial Light!

The Centennial Light is the world’s longest-lasting light bulb. It is at 4550 East Avenue, Livermore, California, and maintained by the Livermore-Pleasanton Fire Department.[1] The fire department says that the bulb is at least 113 years old and has been turned off only a handful of times. Due to its longevity, the bulb has been noted by The Guinness Book of World Records,[2]Ripley’s Believe It or Not!, and General Electric.[3] It is often cited as evidence for the existence of planned obsolescence in later-produced light bulbs.[4]

And here’s a picture (not photoshopped)

 

Granted it is not the prettiest light in existence, but then again, functionality over looks I say!

Sources:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Centennial_Light

Leave a Reply

