The Geek Biker

Rambles of a geek that rides a bike

A robot of foam and straws – Strawbots

Sometimes I brows Instructables.com ready to grab some ideas or when I think I need a new project to get my hands dirty with. It always amazes me the things people can come up with. Like Strawbots.

The instructable seems quite straight forward, you buy a few sheets of foamboard, straws and elastics and get started. Here is my version of Harvey 1.0 Strawbot and it cost me around $15 for all the bits including a longer body single hole punch:

 

IMG_20140118_223640

 

I do not contest that my strawbot has a few odd features that the originals don’t have, but I think it gives it character. I’m not sure if there is a better way of doing it, but the only way I could think of was to first print the blueprints on a piece of paper, cut it out, then transfer the plan to the foam, and cut it out again. Anyone has a better idea, let me know.

Anyway, below are the links to the creator’s blueprints and instructables:

http://www.instructables.com/id/Strawbots-Harvey-10/

And how he should have looked if I had the right straws and elastics (probably most important bit here is the elastics):

I think next time around I’ll get some proper elastics and try Harvey 2.0

One response to “A robot of foam and straws – Strawbots

  1. Pingback: Strawbot 3D printed upgrade | The Geek Biker

Leave a Reply

