The Geek Biker

Rambles of a geek that rides a bike

Minecraft – The Trap…


I had no idea what the hype of Minecraft was all about. From afar it looked like lego..that’s it. So what’s the hype about?

After looking at other sandbox/openworld games to play and a lot of places mentions Notch’s game, I decided to take the plunge and give it a go. Graphics is pretty shite I thought at first.

Then I chopped a tree, and dug a hole. Night came pretty fast and the mosters/zobies/things were all over me. I died.
Frustrated at the thought that 10 year old kids get the game and I died the first nightm I respawned….at night…and died.

So I tried again…chopped a tree, picked up an apple and closed myself in a 3x3x3 box when night came about. Hey! I survived! But my dude was growing hungry…needless to say, I only figured out after a few more deaths how to eat a damn apple. The fact that your health only reduces to 1/2 a heart when you are hungry was OK…but that meant the deaths included falling off a 3 block stack.

At last I started getting what this damn game was about. so back to my 3x3x3 box. I finally learnt to create a pickaxe after fiddling with the crafting table. Took me a while but I eventually dug up coal! At this point my wife stared at me as I raised my arms in the air and cried “I CREATED FIRE!”

After another day over the weekend spent playing this damn game I finally get it what the hype is about. It is about exploring and the possibilities of creation. I now have a few spots over the country side dug well and deeply into the minecraft world’s core. And yes, I’m still scared to go out at night.

Minecraft is a game about placing blocks to build anything you can imagine. At night monsters come out, make sure to build a shelter before that happens. It also has music by C418! So far 35,896,901 people have registered and 6,796,784 people bought the game. More stats here.

Leave a Reply

