The Geek Biker

Rambles of a geek that rides a bike

Mr Skellington, the story behind the skeleton

I got a question from someone called Churchy:

So where did Mr Skellington come from? Just realised He glows in the dark

The story behind Mr Skellington as I replied to him

Yip. He glows in the dark as well.

I was looking for a skull or two to stick to  the front and/or rear fender of Thumper. But they all looked a bit …well …plain.

Then I saw Mr Skellington (Named after Mr Skellington from Nightmare before Christmas, see image below)

All alone and no one picking him. All the skeletons around him. He doesn’t look scary and all the other skeletons had scythes and shit. Not shit as in the object, but as in stuff…accessories. I first walked passed. But had to turn back. He pulled those Skeleton eyes and I just couldn’t resist.

First thought I’d spread him over the fender so it looks like he holds on for dear life, then I remembered he is a skelleton and had no life. Also there might be too much vibration on the front fender and “easy removable” double sided tape might not do the job. There was also no proper place to cable tie his hands to the forks (Again as if to hold on). The one other issue was his reaper rags. I def didn’t want that to get caught up in the spokse or break disks.

So I sat back down, had a whiskey and pondered. Then I decided to chain (read cable tie) him to the handlebar raisers. Now he doesn’t hold on for dear life, he watches over the road!

As a Tribute to Mr Skellington (the original)

P.S. A lot of thought goes into small bike decorations…unbelievable.

5 responses to “Mr Skellington, the story behind the skeleton

  1. developing a product November 8, 2011 at 1:41 am

    I just could not depart your web site before suggesting that I actually enjoyed the usual information a person supply to your guests? Is going to be again ceaselessly in order to check up on new posts

  2. gu10 led bulbs November 16, 2011 at 1:44 am

    I’m not sure the place you’re getting your info, but good topic. I must spend a while learning more or figuring out more. Thank you for wonderful information I was looking for this information for my mission.

  3. asg November 28, 2011 at 3:14 am

    http://www.ledaladdin.com This is really interesting, You are an overly professional blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to in the hunt for extra of your wonderful post. Additionally, I have shared your website in my social networks

  4. led light provider November 30, 2011 at 7:16 am

    Hello There. I found your weblog the usage of msn. That is a very smartly written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn more of your helpful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

  5. Home Audio December 1, 2011 at 12:07 am

    Great weblog here! Also your website a lot up fast! What web host are you the use of? Can I am getting your associate hyperlink to your host? I wish my site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

Leave a Reply

