The Geek Biker

Rambles of a geek that rides a bike

Thumper, the bobber build

Here we go again, another project and too much time on my hands…so I thought…now it is another project with not so much time and not so much money.

It started when I told a friend that he should think about building his own bike up…which got me starting to think about getting another bike and change it.

How about getting a cruiser and make it a bobber. Easier said than done. I know about bikes, I know how an engine should work, but I really don’t know the full ins and outs. So the build should be simple, yes…

Anyway. I got a relative cheap 1999 Kawasaki Vulcan Classic. The one with the fat front tire.

So a before pic is in order:

 
So this is the before pic






 
At this point I removd the handlebars and thought best to cover the tank.




 
Removed the heat shield and wrapped the exhaust.



 
Next would be to strip the bike some more and wire up the indicators and seat panels.





 
Wiring all done, now fix the seat.


 
Adding the rear fender was not a breeze

 
Done for now!

 
Still a few things I would like to do:
1. Strip the badges,
2. Get a smaller front fender
3. Paint whole bike matte black

Leave a Reply

