The Geek Biker

Rambles of a geek that rides a bike

My first FPS

Not long ago I got my hands on a copy of FPSC (First Person Shooter Creator) by The Game Creators. It is what the name says. You can create your own FPS games with an easy to use interface. Buggy yes. But easy none the less. You basically start with a clean canvas and start dragging and dropping “segments and entities” on to it.

So I started mapping out my home and then the office…fun yes, but too small. And my imagination unfortunately does not help in creating bigger maps. So I turned to the internet.

Going through various map generator sites, I came across one with great potential. Dave’s mapper it is called. Check it out at davesmapper.com.

It is basic and simple with the drawback of not yet allowing easy saving of maps. After generating a few, I came across one I would attempt. It looks like this:

davesmapper dungeon

The dungeon I would attempt in FPSC

I had to make a few adjustments and wanted to make a few others. As an example the bottom right corner I decided might work as a cell block for prisoners. But after finishing it I realised it looks stupid, so I modified it. I made it bigger, the starting point of the game with an obvious escape route (as you would find in any good prison).  I’ve also made it more multi layered to enable bigger rooms.

Let’s try to add a few screen shots of the maps.

FPSC Cell block

Above is the altered cell block. The green arrow the start position and the green door behind the start position, the obvious escape route. I might change it to only be usable once the player picked up some sort of pipe or something. Not figured it out yet.

Then there is the barracks.

The barracks

Think I need a patrolling soldier or two here.

As with all WW2 spin off games, you need a zombie room:

Zombie Room

Just look at him feasting on the body there. … mmm…. anyway.

Lastly every game needs a boss character right:

Big Boss

 

I do actually have the whole map mapped out but couldn’t get proper screen shots of all the layers. map is too big.

Once I learn how not too suck at playing my own game, I’ll attempt a few in game screenshots or better yet some videos.

 

Leave a Reply

