The Geek Biker

Rambles of a geek that rides a bike

Martial Arts: Starting anew.

I did Northern long fist for 5 months before the whole relocating to Australia.  I decided to continue my training in OZ and even sought out a few Kung Fu schools that closely resembles the system I started with.

Yesterday I thought about it again. I’m young and have been exposed only to one art form. Why not try the others and see which suits my needs of training best? I’ll even go so far as to say that I’m currently looking at Japanese martial art forms like Aikido, Hapkido and some branches of karate. A wise choice?? I don’t know. But why not take a chance and try?

2 responses to “Martial Arts: Starting anew.

  1. myselfdefenseblog.com January 13, 2008 at 12:17 am

    Hang in there. I would say that most martial artists have trained in many systems. Each style bring something to the table. The only down side I can see is it takes longer to acheive a black belt (having to partially relearn the wheel each time you start a new style).

    In my day, we use to compare martial arts to guess what was better. Who would have thought that jiu jitsu would turn out to be formidable! Back then we thought we would just kick a wrestler if they tried to shoot in at us. 🙂

    I think getting a well rounded martial arts education will only help.

    I have some general interest martial arts stuff on my blog… mostly self-defense and karate issues you might find interesting.

    Regards,

    John W. Zimmer
    MySelfDefenseBlog.com

  2. tvanzyl January 14, 2008 at 7:35 am

    I understand and completely agree with you on this matter.
    That is the exact reason I want to try another Martial Art before I settle.
    I’m relatively young yet old enough to have done damage to my flexibility and other muscle groups… I know for this reason that my progress in Northern Long Fist will be slow.

Leave a Reply

